WIP Weds 2

Standard

Christmas projects are done, barring the innards and mounting of Biology 101 and now I *really* want to make something for myself.

Initially I had a great idea for a design using the Liquide I purchased the other day. So I drew some stuff up, wrote out some measurements and basic pattern to try, did up a swatch and…

001

I realised that the texture just wasn’t going to work for my idea AT ALL. So that’s been set aside for a little while to mull.

I felt that, since I had finished (mostly) my goals for Christmas knitting it was time to take stock of the current WIPs that have been lugged from Goulburn to our new house.
002

This is a cardigan of my own design-as-you-go-along based on a cardigan that my daughter loved and outgrew. It requires

  • one sleeve
  • hood
  • sewing up
  • button band
  • buttons

003

I didn’t actually realise how big Beth’s Little Star Afghan had gotten until I laid it out to take a photo! This is something that I think I will just keep going and going and going on until I feel like it’s big enough.

004

I haven’t done much with the Butterfly Dress since my last WIP Wednesday. I think I sewed up one side. Still to do:

  • Sew up one side
  • knitted armholes
  • knitted neck & back edging
  • straps
  • some form of ruching to deal with the length & silhouette issues from terrible gauge interpretation

007

Honestly, I would frog this b*$#@ if my kid didn’t love it and believe she NEEDED it to wear. I started referring to it as The Fuzz Bunny Beret, for some bizarre reason. This needs

  • sew shoulder seams
  • hood
  • cap sleeves
  • buttons

and I just don’t want to do it, because I feel like it’s going to turn out badly, and yet if I don’t do it the child won’t know that it is bad. So it’s like I need to finish it to prove to her that it is bad and therefore shouldn’t take up my time. *sigh* THERE IS NO WIN HERE.

013

Forest Petals Wrap is coming along very nicely. I put a few more rows of square onto it last week. I am just not in the mood for it. I intend to keep going til the yarn is gone. It’s going to need a VERY INTENSE block, but it will be lovely. Happy happy happy.

008

This is my most recent cast on. I’ve gotten this much done in two days, well really a day and a half so I think it’s going to be super quick to get done. It’s Waterlily in Ice Yarns Viscose Linen. The yarn is rough and fibrous, and feels quite low-process hempy – but I have used this yarn before and it softens up with a good old soak.

The Never-Ending-Dressing-Gown continues in the state it always has. We do not speak of it.

2 thoughts on “WIP Weds 2

Leave a Reply

