Documentation of Historical Artifacts

Standard

I mentioned the other day that K was on a photography kick, taking pictures of my previous projects. I thought I’d share some of them since I can’t really post the recent stuff due to the surprise factor involved.Image

PONCHO – no real pattern in Anna Mohair from ICE yarns

I used a Drops Design pattern to work out the number of stitches to cast on and increased every five or six rows until I thought – yeah, that looks about right. The yarn is very soft and has an excellent squoosh factor, especially given the cheapiness, and I really like the colour, it’s nice and neutral.

SATISFACTION: 4 out of 5 silky goats.

Image

JEN by Kim Hargreaves in Moda Vera Soya

I am a pretty big Kim Hargreaves fan. Her designs are lovely and romantic. I really let this pattern down with my yarn choice. There is too much drape and not nearly enough memory in the yarn, it stretches a lot with wear. I wanted it to be a light and summery cardigan, but it just droops too much. I want to make it again, perhaps in a blend that has some wool or other more elastic fibre. I’m also not a fan of the buttons. I mean, I like the colour and shape, but the shaft lets them flobble around unattractively.

I have a feeling this garment is destined to have it’s yarn reclaimed, but don’t tell K as she frequently co-opts it for her own use.

    SATISFACTION: 2.5 out of 5 soy beans

Image

Lace Nightie by Carrie Bostick-Hoge in black Cleckheaton Bamboo

Well, this worked out very nicely. I really love bamboo, it’s so soft and silky with great drape and just enough fibre memory. I’ve worn this a ridiculous amount of time, my only complaint being that I was too slavish in following the pattern and I really should have done more repeats before starting the waist shaping. I also should have done longer I-cord for the shoulder straps, but I really hate doing I-cord.

      SATISFACTION: 4.5 out of 5 panda treats.

Leave a Reply

