Stuff and nonsense

Standard

I had a little bit of difficulty with the Forest Petals Shawl. I could not figure out why I ended up with more squares than called for and why, when I started the next row, it just wasn’t looking right… so I checked out the forums, found a couple of really good instructions, then read the pattern again and realised I probably should have paid a little more attention. I had neglected the tiniest part of the end of each tunisian row. Sigh.

That was the *first* time I had to rip it out and start again. The second time was because I somehow didn’t end up with the correct number of squares, and I assumed that my base chain was incorrect.

The third and fourth time I only ripped out the entire second row. I thought I had chained too many to start the row. As it turns out, I should have learnt from my first mistake and READ THE PATTERN MORE CAREFULLY. I was just not finishing off the last square properly.

Moral of the story: Pride comes before a fall.

However, now I’m tootling along at a fantastic pace and it is looking really good.

Other stuff to share:

Stacey Tock’s Fresh Stitches has just written something super-interesting about the origins of silk! I mean, we all know where silk comes from, but this is how it gets to yarn and other tidbits that aren’t commonly mentioned.

Marnie Maclean has just published a shawl pattern which I’m very partial to… It will be added to the top of the list of shawls I want to knit.

I am also procrastinating the sports supporter scarf, largely because it is just boring as batsh*t to knit. No offense to bats. I think they are cute.

2 thoughts on “Stuff and nonsense

Leave a Reply

