Overkill? No, overDYE

Standard

After a brief leave of absence involving extreme nausea, I have returned!

I am just finishing up on a side-to-side lace sweater from Sandra Knit Trends

Gotta love blocking.

As you can see, the ribbing is in a significantly different shade than the body. This was not intentional, it was “GAH, I’ve run out of yarn and now I have to order more!”. I’m sure I ordered brown, but the batch was more gray…

So, let’s find out about overdyeing! Because I believe that will solve my problems. The yarn is 100% cotton, so it should take dye well if I use a cold-water fibre-reactive dye.

There are a few good articles on appropriate ways to overdye yarn before it has been knitted up, the principles are helpful. Colour-matching when it is a single garment is a different matter and pretty much a lost cause in this case. I have limited range of dyes available around here, so Ill probably go with the low temperature Gold Cross dye or with RiT available from a pharmacist near you!

I’m going to try to over-dye with chocolate, to see if it will bring the ribbing areas close enough to the body colour so as not to be noticeable. If that doesn’t work, black is always in.

So now that I have done my research – all that remains is to acquire the dye and have at it!

Leave a Reply

